top of page

Journal Entry - August 17, 2024

The Shokuryoshi Experiment


Time: 9:45am - 11:15am

Weather Conditions: Clear skies, with a little bit of smoke in the air. Occasional breeze, and air temperatures around 70F

Water Conditions: Water levels seemed moderate. Great clarity, with temps around 60F


The Eastern Sierras are one of my favorite places to visit in California. With a weekend trip planned, I wanted to take some time and fish. I started doing some research on different areas and talking with my wife to see what kind of plans she had for the trip to see where I might be able to fish.


In our planning, it seemed there was an opportunity to get a Sierra Grand Slam. Four species (Rainbow, Golden, Brown, and Brook trout) in one day was the goal I set. One of the places we planned to visit during our stay supposedly offered a chance to achieve that goal on one stretch of river. I figured this would be a good test of skill and understanding, and add a little challenge to the shokuryoshi experiment.


We set out in the morning, and made our way to the stretch of river where I would attempt to complete this challenge. The river was beautiful, and a trail ran close to it, sometimes with a significant gap between the water and where the trail meandered along the hillside. Access wasn't always great, but it seemed relatively easy to traverse.


I started out with a morioka-style kebari and within a few casts had a bite. I wasn't able to set the hook, but at least there was action. I continued fishing the pocket water in search of a rainbow trout, or even golden hybrid, which was said to inhabit this section. It didn't take long for me to hook into a rainbow and bring it to net. One of four down...


The Rainbow

Moving upstream, I made casts into all water types. I was looking for a few different characteristics. I was hoping to find that golden hybrid in the pocket water, or hidden in a current somewhere, maybe... The brown trout I figured would be hiding in cover, and the brook trout I was guessing would be in a slower moving patch of water.


A ways upstream, I found a couple brown trout. The first was hiding next to a rock in a little pool off to the side of the main currents, this was the larger of the two caught. The second one was caught when I placed the kebari in between some branches from a couple willow that crowded the far bank.


The Brown

With two of the four species caught, we continued upstream a little bit, but the access points became few and far between. That, and the day started getting warmer, with the sun climbing its way to the middle of the sky.


We decided to take a break and eat a snack, before carrying on with our day and adventure.


Unfortunately, I didn't quite hit the mark and get a Sierra Grand Slam. But, this gives me another reason to go back and visit the area! I had wanted to do it all on a tenkara rod, while fishing a river or stream. I may have been able to accomplish it if I had opted for a mix of moving and still water options. Maybe I wouldn't have? But, I figured it would have been more fitting to try it in the traditional tenkara sense, being that I've been doing the Shokuryoshi Experiment.

Comments


bottom of page