top of page

Tenkara Tanuki 375 Review

Welcome to the first gear review on the website! I’ve done some reviews on my social media accounts in the past but I wanted to save a more in-depth review for the website, and what better time to post it than with this series of articles?


For the most part, I like to fish with a piece of gear for about a year before I post a review on it. For the Tenkara Tanuki 375, I feel confident in sharing my thoughts about the rod.


 

Appearance



Luong Tam has a thing for bright colors and flashy designs. In my opinion, the man’s personality encapsulates the mischievous nature that tanuki are known for.


I will admit that early in my discovery of tenkara, I was a little put off by these bright colors. Even when I went to order this rod, I wasn’t quite sure if I would like the bright orange rod handle. After receiving the package in the mail and opening it up, I was very impressed by the appearance of the rod overall. I will also say that I quickly became a fan of the “Happy Orange” foam grip


Starting at the base, the grip is made from three sections high density EVA foam. The butt and the head sections are black in color, with the main portion in the middle being bright orange in color. The contours on the grip are defined but not as extremely pronounced as some other rods on the market. The camel shape gives you thicker sections near the top and bottom of the grip.


Gold accents adorn the dark, graphite-gray sections. The two joints closest to the tip of this rod have bright orange painted around the joints instead of the gold rings you find on the other sections.


 

The Specs

(As advertised on the website)

Length Extended: 375cm/12’ 4”

Segments: 8

Length Collapsed: 58cm/23”

Handle Length: 28cm/11”

Weight: 77g/2.72oz


 

When and Why I Use This Rod


I use this rod in most situations where I plan to be fishing the surface. The length seems to work in most areas I fish.


I like the flex of this rod. It’s not quite full flex, or “noodly” by any means. On the other hand, it’s not too snappy or rigid. I feel it compliments my casting stroke well. It’s a weli-balanced flex profile that sits nicely somewhere in between. Along with that, the flex profile seems to handle any situation where I’ve encountered a trout around the 12” range pretty well without any feeling of being under or overpowered. The fight was fun, but comfortable. I’ve found my preferred combination of lines with this rod, but it seems versatile enough that I am confident in being able to cast with any lines that I keep on my spools.


 

Paired Lines and Flies


There are a few lines I like to pair with this rod. Starting out with fishing the surface, I prefer a 2.5 or a 3.0 Level Line cut to the length of the rod. If I plan to fish a little further away with a larger fly, I’ll generally go with a 4.5m MIDI tapered line from Fujino.


As far as flies go, I generally fish a size 14 or 12 futsu on the surface. If i’m fishing a sakasa, it’s usually a size 12 or 10 paired with the longer line. There are occasions where I will fish a weighted fly, and for the most part I prefer a shorter line, but it just depends on the situation.


 

What I Like About This Rod


Starting with the grip, it seems to be just the right size for my hands. I generally prefer a more narrow grip. The contour near the base of the handle has a more pronounced transition that makes for a very comfortable spot to hold the rod. When I cast for surface presentations, I prefer to hold the rod closer to the end of the handle as I feel it allows me to cast a more delicate presentation. I know I already mentioned that I like the flex profile of this rod already, but it is another reason I love the Tanuki 375.


 

What Would I Change?


To be honest, there’s not much about this rod that I think needs any attention. The one thing that comes to mind isn’t necessarily about the rod itself, but more about the market of American tenkara rods as a whole. I would like to see different flex profiles offered. Building upon what I like about this rod, I would like to see the same model offered in different lengths, or different flex profiles. This is just a kinda lofty, wish-list idea, but I do like how companies like Nissin offer a range of options for a rod model.


 


bottom of page