top of page

The Pack System

(The Shokuryoshi Experiment)


In my post “Creating A System” I talked about some ideas behind my current system, and a little on how they came to be. With the concept of a modular pack system that offered versatility and utility, I built up a system that I continue to use. 


Having gear, tools, and components organized and easily interchangeable is the core idea behind this system. Being able to easily add or subtract gear that I plan to bring with me allows me to quickly prepare to hit the water. Whether I’m parking and walking down an embankment to the river, or hiking a few miles in, I can do so with the confidence that I have what I need for a successful outing.


There are numerous pack options out on the market. From chest packs, backpacks, hip/lumbar packs, to minimalist pouches, they all offer characteristics to fit an angler's preferences and needs. If you were to compare the way ten anglers have their pack’s organized, I could guarantee that you would find ten very unique setups. While this article is about the packs I use, how and when I use them, and the way in which I have my packs organized, I realize that this setup may not work for everybody. We all have different needs and different gear when on the water, but maybe you’ll find something in these writings that will help get the wheels turning on changes that could allow for more time with your fly in the water.


 

The Packs


The system I have adopted over the past year consists of two main packs: Tenkara Fanny Pack from Yonah Packs, and the Tenkara Sling Lite from Zimmerbuilt. Between these two, I can store the gear I need for most fishing sessions, while making it easy to change gear around to fit the need.



Yonah Packs - Tenkara Fanny Pack



When it comes to packs designed specifically for tenkara, Yonah Packs offers some of the best gear out there. I’ve been using the Tenkara Fanny Pack from them since I started fishing with a tenkara rod. The quality and durability has proven itself, and the features are well thought out.


I like the pack because I don’t care much for straps on my shoulders when fishing. I find having a pack around the waist offers more comfort for me, as well as a belt to secure a net, or even add on other tools or pouches.


 

Zimmerbuilt - Tenkara Sling Lite



I received the Tenkara Sling Lite pack as a gift, and while it’s relatively new to me, I have found the quality to be just as good as everyone says it is. While I haven’t put as much use into it as my other pack gets, it’s still a great pack, and has become a key part of my setup for longer fishing sessions.


I like the pack because it offers a little bit more space for gear, and the option to carry up to 4 rods, or even a small water bottle. Sometimes I even put my net in the sleeve to secure it while I’m on the trail.


 

The System


With two packs being part of this system, one serves as the base and the other serves as a sort of “auxiliary” pack that is used when the situation calls for more gear.



The Core


At the core of this system is the Yonah Fanny Pack. This is the pack that is always with me. It holds all my essentials for any given outing, including my fishing license, fly box, forceps, E.T.R. and tippet spool, hook hone, tungsten putty, sighter material, a silicone bag, and a line spool.


One big change I talked about in the last article was wearing this pack around the front. In doing this, I found several advantages (other than embarrassing my wife). Other than cutting down on the time it took to find things in the pack, I found it offered some security when tying on a new fly or replacing tippet. Leaving the pack open, I could hold a fly or line spool above the pouch and catch whatever may fall, be it clippings or a dropped fly, in the main compartment.


Aside from the added security, it also offered better access to my tools. I could quickly grab my forceps, easily access my “Emergency Tippet Reserve”, or pull a new length of tippet without spending as much time fumbling around.



 

Organization of The Pack


Main Pocket


The main pocket is where I keep my most used components, or anything I need quick and easy access to. I store my fly box, and line spool freely in the main pocket. I have my sighter material in one of the small interior pockets, and a “nymphing” line spooled up in the other. I then store my keys and wallet inside of the silicone bag, along with anything else that I don’t want to get wet in the event I fall in.



 

Front Pocket


It may seem redundant, but the components that live in the front pocket are all stored in a Tenkara Backcountry Pack from Yonah Packs. This allows me to keep items organized, and allows me to remove them when I need to clean or completely change packs. It also gives me an option to take a very small, simplified setup if I ever decide to.


Inside of the main compartment of this pack, I have my fishing license, a spare set of forceps, and the tether that allows the pack to be worn around the neck or as a sling.


The outside mesh pockets store my tungsten putty and hook hone, allowing for quick access when I need them.



 

Exterior Components


While it’s a bit of a no-brainer, I keep all my fishing related tools on the outside of the pack.


Using the loop sewn into the webbing on the face of the pack, I store my E.T.R. and tippet spool.


On the main strap to the right, I have my Loon Outdoors Rogue Quickdraw Forceps attached using a Gerber Defender Compact. 


At the base of the zipper for the main pocket are two small cord loops. The one on my left side has a locking carabiner attached to it. I use this carabiner to secure the tether to my net.



 

The Auxiliary


The sling pack comes in whenever I may need to carry a little more gear with me. This pack is meant to be more modular in its organization. The contents change to fit the needs of the session. This is where I utilize the zipper pouches to keep things organized, as the main pouch doesn’t come with any organization options… Which isn’t a bad thing as it allows for more creative systems.


 

Organization of The Pack


Main Pocket


There are a few things that I always keep in the main pouch, these are my First Aid Kit, my extra fly box, and the pouch that holds my most used accessories.


Outside of that, I switch out pouches as necessary. Maybe I need to bring a few different line spools for exploring a new stretch of water. Sometimes I bring a water filter with me. Maybe I either start with a jacket, or think I may need a jacket… This is where I store the jacket.



 

The Pouches


Utilizing zipper pouches to organize my gear helps me to keep organization of the pack more manageable when putting together what I think I may need. I had mentioned that I keep a pouch that holds my most used accessories. This pouch is a bright green color, making it easy to spot in the event that I take it out of the pack. Inside the pouch I have my phone tether, an emergency whistle, a buff, and the strap for my sunglasses. In the colder months, I add a pack of hand warmers just in case.




I like to carry my water filter and a soft water bottle packed away in a dark green pouch. I add this pouch to the pack or take it out depending on the waters I’m visiting, and how long I plan to be away from the car.




The last pouch in the list is the one that holds my line spools. At the start of the year, I had a separate pouch for each spool, so that I could just bring ones that I liked to pair with the rods that I had with me. Over the season I found it to be over complicated, and combined all the spools into one pouch. I can easily remove any spools that I don’t plan to bring with me and leave them in the car. I like having the one pouch with the spools, as it allows me to quickly find them when I want to change out the lines that I’ve been using, or when I go to switch rods on the water.



 

Exterior Storage


The outside of the pack is mostly just for carrying my rods and my net. The combination of the pockets and the shock cord loops at the top of the pack securely holds the rods in place when hiking and moving around the water. The net I use stores well in the same way, and I will store the net here when driving to or hiking into a spot.


The pockets also work to hold a smaller water bottle. I will use a Smart Water bottle in here when I may be fishing on a hot day, or plan to be away from the car for some time.


 

At the beginning of this article, I mentioned my intent was to share how I set my packs up, and the system I use in hopes that I inspire others to create their own systems or organize their packs in a way that allows for more time fishing. A big driving force in creating a new system for myself was to do the same. Efficiency is the main focus of this experiment, and the more time spent with a fly in the water means more opportunities to catch fish.


bottom of page