top of page

Thoughts on Casting Lines

The Shokuryoshi Experiment


Fixed-line fishing presents a somewhat challenging aspect that fishing with a reel tends to remedy. Line length. The amount of line out, when fishing with a reel, is easily adjusted. A few turns, or a little adjustment made by stripping line in can tailor the line to fit the situation. As we know, with a fixed-line rod, this isn’t as easily accomplished. Sure you can switch a line out, but that takes a bit of time - if only a few seconds.


It can be hard to know the right length of line to pack for an outing, and no one length will fit every situation in a way that allows you to maximize your success. But, one of the beautiful things about tenkara is the challenge that this presents.


It forces you to think in ways that allow you to maximize your success using the tools you have at hand, without the constant adjustment of gear. It allows you to focus on fishing - after all, that is what we’re out there to do.


As far as how I adapted my lines in the Shokuryoshi Experiment, there were a few things I noticed from previous outings, as well as a few things I had to refine throughout the duration of the experiment (which I’m still conducting at the time of writing this).


 

Line Selection


I talked a little about the different lines I like to use early on, and will mention which lines I like to pair in the rod reviews I’ve done this year. If you’re interested in revisiting any of those older posts, I will include a link below…




When it comes down to line selection, there are a couple factors that play into my decision making.


The first, I would say, is which rod the line will be used with. I’ve found that certain lines work better with certain rods in my collection. As I mentioned, I talk about it in the individual rod reviews. So, depending on the water I plan to fish, I choose a rod, then from there I choose my lines.


Based on the rod I’m using and the lines that I find pair well with it, I then choose based on fishing conditions. This can include the water conditions (how fast it’s flowing), what flies the fish seem to be keyed in on, the weather conditions (how windy is it?), and the surrounding obstacles near the water.


If the flows are high, I don’t mind using a heavier line because I’m not as worried about the fly being dragged back toward the rod tip.


If the fish are feeding on smaller flies in pocket water, I try to go with a lighter level line so that I can anchor a fly further away from me.


I flip flop a bit during windy conditions, and I think it depends which direction the wind is blowing. This topic can be a can of worms, but I generally try to position in a way that lets me fish using the wind to my advantage - or to the least disadvantage.


If I have more room to cast, I don’t mind using a longer line, but there’s a limit to that…


 

Line Length


A lot of line selection really comes down to preference. I listed some of the factors that play into how I choose my lines, but another aspect to consider is the length of the line.


While it may seem a little basic, I generally like to fish a line that’s around the same length of the rod. I think there’s a good reason why this is generally the suggested length for people starting out. I think it offers the most convenient experience when casting, or landing a fish.


Granted, there are times when having a longer or shorter line can come in handy, but you will have pros and cons (really, with any line length) on either side of it. With the line being the same length of the rod, I find I can land fish quickly and effectively in conjunction with using a net.


Sometimes on the river, I will use a longer line to reach spots across the current, or when I may need to focus on downstream presentations. The big problem I find with the long line is the time it takes to land a fish in faster currents, and the higher likelihood of having to handline a bit - which presents more opportunities to lose the fish.


There are scenarios where I use a shorter line - mostly to “lantern fish” in certain areas. The main drawback I find with this is the limited range when you reach a section of water that opens up. I also don’t particularly like suspending a fish out of the water either. I don’t think it’s good catch and release practice, and it also presents an opportunity for the fish to wriggle free of the hook. So, maybe those are contradictory reasons, but I’m sticking to them.


Regardless of which length line I’m using, there is one big thing that I’ve found really helped me in my angling since starting this experiment…


 

Sighter Material


When I first started fishing with a tenkara rod, I thought sighter material was unnecessary. Maybe it still is. I was drawn to tenkara for the minimalistic approach to fishing, and felt that using a sighter was “cheating” in a way. I have found, though, that there are several benefits from adding a small section of soft line that is a different color than the main casting line.


Tracking your casts becomes easier with a little bit of sighter material tied in. It’s easy to see the end of the line - especially if you’re fishing with a thin level line. With that, you can quickly pick up on where your cast will end up. Which can potentially save you some flies and tippet by avoiding tangling up in branches.


Along with tracking the cast, it can help with tracking the fly. By using the drape of the line and the contrast in colors (which helps with visibility in different lighting conditions), you can judge the general direction of your fly in relation to the line. There’s also another benefit that comes with this…


Strike detection is a little easier with the softer line integrated in the system. I used to watch the knot at the end of my level line for any movement when fishing a fly subsurface, but I do think that the soft sighter material transmits subtle movements a little better. This has helped quite a bit when fishing a fly deeper in a pocket or run, or even when nymphing (of which I’m not very good at, so take that little bit with a grain of salt).


 

In the end, our line selection really boils down to personal preference, and much of that preference comes from experiences had on the water. I find that my own line preferences change fairly regularly. Maybe it's due to curiosity, or even necessity at times. With those new experiences, come new understandings of different line types, different lengths, and how to make the most out of them.


Kommentare


bottom of page