top of page

A Look Back: Familiar Waters (TenkaraUSA)

After an article I wrote for the TenkaraUSA Blog about fishing streams in the mountain, the next one in the lineup was about practicing on local waters.



Coming back to the creeks I fish regularly helps shift my perspective from going after smaller fish to practicing some presentations and habits for fishing bigger waters in the next few months.

One of the things I wanted to do with this one was to promote visiting waters that you know well in order to practice new techniques or ideas, and to talk about some aspects of presenting the fly not directly mentioned in previous articles.


One of the things I revisit is bodily positioning in relation to where you’re casting. I have found that certain presentations seem to work better depending on where you’re standing on the water and where you’re focusing the placement of the kebari.

I expand a bit more on this throughout the article, discussing how the positioning can open up better opportunities for different presentations.


Outside of that, I also wanted to promote awareness of rising temperatures and hoot owl closures that may affect the fishing in some regions.


As the summer heat sets in, be conscious of the water temperatures too. Fishing in water above 65 degrees fahrenheit can be harmful to trout species.

If you would like to read the full article, you can find "Tenkara Fishing Tips: Familiar Waters" on the TenkaraUSA website!

Comments


bottom of page