top of page

A Look Back: Into the Mountains (TenkaraUSA)

At the beginning of June in 2022, TenkaraUSA released my blog post about fishing smaller mountain streams, and the presentations that I found work well in those types of waters.



"As Spring turns into Summer and the last of the snow in the higher elevations begins to melt away, I redirect my focus to the smaller streams and creeks nestled in mountains. Long drives up windy roads offer gorgeous scenic views leading to quiet and often isolated tenkara fishing spots."

The mountain streams in my area have a small window of time where they are fishable. Most are fed by snowmelt, and as the recent winters haven't brought a lot of snow, the creeks tend to flow low and hot in the summer months. I try to take advantage of the time when the creeks at those higher elevations are flowing and fishing well.


"Whether the stream is lined with trees and bushes or winds its way through an open meadow, I always recommend taking a stealthy approach. Extra precautions and planning of your movements while on the water will bring you more success when the streams may be crystal clear."

Movement along these streams can play a big role in your success. Some are more difficult to traverse, while others offer an easy, open area to move around. Stealth should always be considered when planning your movements.


"When fishing cross-stream or if you’re standing upstream from where you drift the fly, “skating” the fly along the surface can also entice a strike."

Toward the end of the article I mention a few presentations. The first being sasoi, and the second being gyakubiki. A reverse surface pull can really catch a fish's attention in theses smaller waters.


I'm looking forward to getting out into the mountains to fish some of these smaller creeks soon. I'll definitely be employing these tactics and presentations during my outings.


Be sure to head over to the TenkaraUSA blog and give "Into the Mountains" a read!

Commenti


bottom of page