top of page

A Look Back: Oahu Trip Report (2021)

A few years ago I took a family trip to Oahu. While most of the focus was on spending time with family, I still found some time to do some fishing.


With easy beach access, I was able to fish most mornings and afternoons. I had taken my keiryu rod to fish the surf. While the extra length was helpful in casting to areas where fish were, there was still a little bit of a learning curve while I figured out how to fish in a very different setting than I’m used to.


The pattern that I found the most success with was to put enough weight to get the fake shrimp to drop closer to the bottom. Then I would time my casts to try to land the bait right on top, or right behind an approaching wave so that the rig would have enough time to sink.


Over my time fishing along the beach I landed several wrasse and a sculpin. There was one instance where I hooked into something big that I was not prepared for, and ended up losing the terminal section of my line.



It was fun to fish for tropical species in a new setting. If I ever have the chance to visit again, I now know a few things that I would change with my setup!



Comments


bottom of page