top of page

Nissin Royal Stage 320 7:3 Review

I’m back with another rod review!


It's about that time of year when the tributaries in the mountains are fishing their best and the rod of choice for when I hit one of these mountain streams is the Nissin Royal Stage 320 in a 7:3 flex profile.


I’ve owned this rod for a few years, and every time I fish with it, I’m reminded of what a great rod it truly is.


 

Appearance


Royal Stage 320 7:3

This rod isn’t one that I would consider “flashy,” but it isn’t as plain as some other rods on the market.


The handle section has a very defined, gour-shaped cork grip with Nissin’s usual rounded butt cap. The blank has a mix of black and emerald green coloration adorned with gold accents and lettering. Below some sections of the black and emerald paint you can see the woven carbon fiber texture. The base also has a few spots where Nissin has rounded bump on either side where the rod info is painted on.


The rest of the blanks on this rod follow the black paint and gold accent theme with a slight texture that can be felt when running the finger along the blank.


The rod comes with a gold-colored tip plug, but I have opted to replace it with a more secure Fuji cap


 

The Specs

(As advertised on the website)


Length Extended: 320cm/10’ 6”

Segments: 7

Length Collapsed: 57cm/22.5”

Handle Length: 28cm/11”

Weight: 65g/2.29oz


 

When and Why I use it


I use this rod in most situations where I expect to be fishing streams with relatively tight cover and smaller fish. On these streams, I generally fish closer to the surface.


I feel that I can get good casts with relatively short casting strokes and deliver the fly accurately to spots along the water. Along with that, the flex profile (being a little more rigid in the lower sections) allows for short, subtle movements to get hooksets. This comes in handy when smaller trout do subtle takes on the fly.


I don’t like to have a full flex rod when fishing for smaller trout. At first I thought it seemed fun, but it adds an unnecessary challenge in my mind. The advertised 7:3 flex profile is still delicate enough to where fighting these fish is still fun, without having a rod that is fully flexed out on a 5” rainbow trout.


 

Paired Lines and Flies


I’ve bounced around with which lines I like to use with this rod. At first, I used a #3.5 Level Line, but then switched to a #2.5 Level Line. At this time I use a #5 Nylon Level Line but am considering trying a different size level line, or maybe even a tapered nylon line.


My fly selection varies too. I often find good luck with a size 14 futsu kebari, but also really enjoy a size 14 Griffith’s Gnat. The smallest I’ve thrown on this rod is a size 18 futsu, but generally speaking, I won’t go smaller than a size 16 hook on many flies.


 

What I Like About This Rod


This rod is very light! With its shorter extended length (at least shorter than my other rods) it is far from fatiguing, even when casting for long periods of time. Also, as I mentioned earlier, the flex profile allows for short casts and subtle hook sets.


I was worried I wouldn’t like the shape of the grip, as some reviews I had read before I had this rod suggested it was uncomfortable for some, but I find it to be just the right amount of contour for the diameter of the cork.


On a purely aesthetic level, I absolutely love the color scheme.


 

What Would I Change About The Rod?


This is a tough one… I try to find something to be a little critical about in these reviews, but the rods that I will be reviewing are generally being written about because they are rods that I consistently use - or else I probably would have sold them off already.


I’ll split this into two separate ideas though…


I would maybe like a little more of a “true” 7:3 flex profile, as Nissin tends to manufacture their rods a little softer than what they advertise them as.


Or, I would like it to have the same flex characteristics, but maybe just a tad bit shorter - I’m thinking like 310 or 300cm. But, then I feel it may not be as useful on the waters I fish.


Comments


bottom of page